A Taste Of The Work Life

As of late, I’ve been interning in an Events Management company for the past 3 months and boy, I had a sip of how the rest of my life is going to fan out.

Currently, a Content Writer and Social Media Executive and I must say I have learnt so much in the past 3 months. To be honest, if someone were to tell me I am going to be a content writer 5 years ago, I would have just laughed it off knowing how much I don’t enjoy writing. Looking back, I thought I would be involved in the accounting & finance industry but life surprises me with beautiful things all the time.

In just 3 short months, I am glad to have learnt about things that high school and college can’t teach me. Experiencing new things in life scares me, but it makes me a more enriched individual. More often than not, I get excited learning about new things, going to new places and getting the first-hand experience in both the events industry and content writing.

the-nat-channel-work-glasshouse-seputeh

This is the infamous Glasshouse which is the hottest event space in Kuala Lumpur for 2016!

Staying 10 minutes away from the office definitely has its perks. I know I will never be late despite how late I wake up in the morning and I get to escape all the massive rush-hour traffic. I work alongside 5 other colleagues in our small cozy space in the office. We share the office with 4 other subsidiaries who all falls under the same mother company as us. Interestingly enough, everyone in the office is below 35, the oldest being 33. The young vibe makes it feel more like high school than an office, which I am more than happy to submerse myself into.

I will not lie,  I admit that the work life is exhausting. The first 2 weeks of working worn me out completely as I crashed right after dinner was done. 3 months in, I am so ready for a short vacation. To be honest, it is not the workload that exhausts me, it is the working hours that takes a toll on my body. Making a big leap from clocking in 12 hours weekly during college days to 50 hours weekly while working is a significant difference that makes me physically exhausted.

the-nat-channel-work-empire-damansara

Work brings me to beautiful places which I wouldn’t have discovered on my own. 

Being in an events management company which is aspiring to be the first digital marketing platform for venues in Malaysia is interesting. I discover that there are a whole lot of unconventional event spaces out there than what I am used to (read: hotels). Constantly on a lookout for unique event spaces, I have now broadened my horizons and mind on where events can be held. Truth be told, this has never crossed my mind and I have never thought about looking for alternative spaces to celebrate weddings, birthdays or parties prior to this. I always think of restaurants when it comes to birthdays and parties and for weddings I always thought it was to be held in a hotel.

Having said that, I am thankful for this experience and for having wonderful and friendly colleagues. I’d like to think that it is the non-conventional (un)corporate industry and the young age rage in the office that contributed to this. I am so grateful for this opportunity to be doing what I love (social media) and exploring unconventional career options with content writing. Heck, I am currently dreaming of becoming an editor of a fashion or lifestyle magazine. Who knows what doors will be opened next?

Leave a Reply

