Sights And Shopping In Milan

Known to be the capital of Italian fashion, Milan has quite a sight when it comes to beautiful architecture as well. Compared to Rome, I would say Milan is the updated and more glamorous city compared to the capital.

I took a train from Venice and the sight that greeted me at the train station alone has already impressed me. This is probably the most impressive train station I have ever set foot on.

the-nat-channel-italy-milan-train-station

Just look at that!!! A very grand entrance, featuring nothing short of a high ceiling and detailed arch.

Before my visit here, I googled the points of interest in Milan. On every website that I visited, Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II would show up. From the pictures, I was already blown away. Let me just do the same and show you how it looks like.

PS: These pictures do not do justice!

Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II

the-nat-channel-italy-milan-galleria-vittorio-emanuel-ii

the-nat-channel-italy-milan-galleria-vittorio-emauel-ii

the-nat-channel-italy-milan-galleria-vittorio-emanuele-II-prada

One of the world’s oldest shopping mall and dare I say the grandest one I have ever seen. Named after the first king of the Kingdom of Italy, it is also home to the very first Prada outlet.

the-nat-channel-italy-milan-puppet-show

This was a really cute sight I spotted as I was walking closer to the duomo. A little girl watching attentively to a live kind of puppet show. Don’t know the exact term for it but it was fascinating!

Duomo di Milano

the-nat-channel-italy-milan-duomo-di-milan

A large and elaborate gothic cathedral in the heart of town. Doesn’t look scary from this point of view but I guess whatever floats their boat! Probably the spears or spikes above made it seem scary but it’s so iconic that I think we can look past that. I forgot to mention, this cathedral took almost six centuries to build, insane!!

the-nat-channel-italy-milan-shopping

I don’t remember the exact location, but it was fairly close to the duomo. This is the shopping heaven for girls. The entire street is literally retail store after retail store and I have to make a mention that these stores are HUGE! If you’re very familiar with retail outlets, you’ll be able to spot Zara in this picture!

Serravalle 

the-nat-channel-italy-milan-shopping-serravalle

A very popular designer outlet mall. This is a definite must go for people who are eyeing to get a few designer goods and let me tell you, Prada is almost free here – I kid you not (or at least that’s how people make it seem!).

the-nat-channel-italy-milan-shopping-night

Another shopping street in Milan. While it is common for most retail outlets in Europe to close by 5pm/6pm, you’re lucky if some open till 8pm! No doubt shops have already closed, the streets are still lively and full of energy, just like every fashion capital.

Leave a Reply

