What It’s Like To Be A Food Control Freak

Deep fried food is a no-go, junk food is gross and processed food will never be in my pantry.

When I decide on what or where to head for lunch, my brain does a mental calculation on how healthy or unhealthy my meal is going to be. Before even stepping into a restaurant, I’ve already made mental notes on what will suit my diet and what is off limits.

As I flip the menu and have a glance of what is available, I quickly screen through to shortlist which item on the menu makes the cut for the day. Depending on what I had earlier (for breakfast or lunch), I’ll decide on what is appropriate for my current meal in terms of calories, nutritional value and fat content.

the-nat-channel-food-home-cooked-linguine

Sound like a chore? It isn’t that difficult once you’re in the groove of things. Being very used to this routine has programmed my body and mind in a way which is difficult to explain to an ordinary person.

I was once obsessed with counting my calories. When I was 18, I had an app that tracks the amount of calories I consume per day. Needless to say, I religiously keyed in all my food intake and started obsessing over keeping my calories in check. I filtered out food & drinks which are high in calories and became more aware of what I should or shouldn’t feed my body.

I have this constant battle with my inner-self on a daily basis. I have dialogues in my head on whether I’m consuming too much carbs, fats, oil, sugar and salt.

the-nat-channel-food-home-made-pasta-salad

What is it like to be me you might ask.

Well, apart from all of the above I am very conscious about what I feed my body. I believe in feeding my body right and that means getting lots of the good stuff into my system. I very much prefer preparing my own meals because I am in control of what goes into my food.

There are days when I do indulge in a bowl of creamy carbonara linguine because I still absolutely love to eat. I choose my so-called ‘cheat’ days depending on my mood. Desserts are still my absolute favourite and I don’t pass on desserts.

the-nat-channel-food-dessert

Being a food control freak, my mind is already automatically tuned to an odd way of thinking. When it comes to food, I make sure what I put in my system has a high ROI in the long-run. What’s the use of getting myself blocked arteries and accumulate fats around my organs over greasy food?

Leave a Reply

