Winter In Paris

Paris has always been THE PLACE I wanted to visit since I was a little girl. To finally tick this destination off my bucket-list made me a really happy camper and I was so excited! Winter might not be the most ideal time to be in Paris but my excitement was so real, I HAD TO GO!!!

Plus, I went to the city of love with the love of my life… It was perfect!

I randomly picked a place based on convenience and proximity from my hotel and off I go, visiting the infamous Arc De Triomphe.

Truth be told, I was bummed that it was cloudy but I should have seen this coming since it is winter time after all. After taking enough photographs of this historical arc, I made my way upwards along the Champs Elysees, passing by rows  of designer boutiques. Even their McDonalds looked more glam and upscale!

the-nat-channel-france-paris-europe-street-near-arc-de-triomphe-champs-elysees

First tourist attraction checked and onto the next. The Notre-Dame Cathedral is located in a slightly further area from where I stayed but it was worth a visit as it IS the most well-known church in the world.

the-nat-channel-france-paris-europe-notre-dame

I am usually a fan of Christmas trees but this one here ruined what could have been a perfect picture of the Notre Dame. I was already impressed by the architecture from afar. As I made my way towards the entrance of the church, I noticed the detailing of the arch and that left a lasting impression.

the-nat-channel-france-paris-europe-notre-dame-night-church

The side profile of Notre Dame is not too shabby at all!

Visiting the Louvre Museum is a must when one is in Paris. After all, it houses one of the most famous paintings in the world, the Mona Lisa AND is also the world’s largest museum. That explains why I spent a good amount of hours in the museum even though it wasn’t my cup of tea.

the-nat-channel-france-paris-europe-lourve-museum-side-day

the-nat-channel-france-paris-europe-lourve-museum-day

the-nat-channel-france-paris-europe-lourve-museum-night

How gorgeous is this! Truth be told, it looks way better in pictures than in real life. My expectations and reality did not match for this one! I figured it was the lighting that made the pictures pop and the darkness that complemented the overall look.

the-nat-channel-france-paris-europe-gallaries-lafayette

Passing by a famous departmental store, Galeries Lafayette.

And of course, a trip to Paris is incomplete without visiting the Eiffel Tower!!!!!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

This. Is. So. Magical.

If you know me, you’d know that I have been obsessed over the Eiffel Tower since I was a little girl. Growing up, Paris had always been on my bucket list and places-to-go. There is something about the Eiffel  Tower which I can’t pinpoint to that takes up a special place in my heart.

It was definitely a dream come true seeing this magnificent tower in real life. I even visited it 3 times from 2 different locations, trying to savour the moments while I can. This one right here has the BEST view in the house! Seeing the lights twinkling at night feels so surreal and almost magical. I almost couldn’t believe my eyes that this is checked off my bucket list!! *inserts tears of joy

On my final night in Paris, I did what every couple would do – head over to Pont Des Art, the love lock bridge and lock their love. It is believed that if you inscribe each other’s name on the padlock and throw the keys into the river, you’d have unbreakable love.

the-nat-channel-france-paris-europe-pont-des-art-love-lock-bridge

the-nat-channel-france-paris-europe-pont-des-art-lock-bridge

the-nat-channel-france-paris-europe-pont-des-art-lock-love-bridge

While I am sad that they have now taken down the locks from the bridge due to it collapsing, I am happy to have also checked this off my bucket list before the bridge collapsed!

Experiencing Paris with my other half was simply magical. While the weather was gloomy on most days, the city of love still shined through and brought us lots of fond memories. I wish to visit this city again in the future on a summer day and enjoy more pastries, escargots and the view of Eiffel Tower.

I have yet to visit Palace of Versailles and I wish to cover that the next time round.

Au revoir for now Paree!

Leave a Reply

