Tokyo Disneysea

This is the ONLY sea themed Disney theme park in the entire world (for now) and that itself should excite anyone! It is located within the same region as Tokyo Disneyland and both parks are right beside each other.

Prior to my trip, I read a lot of mixed reviews about Disneysea. Some said it is better than Disneyland and others said it is nothing great. Not knowing which to believe, I went for it anyway since I was already in Tokyo.

the-nat-channel-japan-tokyo-disneysea-maihama-ship

I went to Disneysea bright and early (9am) and it was partially cloudy but the sun eventually came out at around noon!

the-nat-channel-japan-tokyo-disneysea-maihama-christmas

the-nat-channel-japan-tokyo-disneysea-maihama-main-streets

In Disneyland, this would be the main street of USA, not sure if it is the same here in Disneysea! Anyway, since I went around Christmas period, the decor was up and the atmosphere was lovely! The light breezy Japanese winter made it felt so much like Christmas.

the-nat-channel-japan-tokyo-disneysea-maihama-palm-trees.JPG

Feeling the Cali vibe in Tokyo.

So everyone is given a chance to redeem fast past tickets for certain rides and made full use of it! It really cuts waiting time by a whole lot because the theme park was surprisingly filled with locals and not tourist. I’m guessing they are annual pass holders.

the-nat-channel-japan-tokyo-disneysea-maihama-under-the-sea-little-mermaid

Little Mermaid – Under The Sea.

The little girl in me was EXTREMELY happy!! If you know me, you’d know that I love bright and pastel colours and this is exactly where I would fit in!!! Nevermind the ride was childish, the aesthetics and environment made me a happy kid.

the-nat-channel-japan-tokyo-disneysea-maihama-mosque-mediteranean

the-nat-channel-japan-tokyo-disneysea-maihama-mosque

I’ve never been to any Mediterranean country but I am in awe of this beautiful replica architecture. These were cafes and restaurants for patrons to dine. I tried their infamous turkey leg and it was finger licking good!

the-nat-channel-japan-tokyo-disneysea-maihama-tower-of-terror

Tower of Terror!

I’ve sat on this ride in Paris Disneyland and gave it a miss in Disneysea because it is essentially the same ride and the queue time was over 100 minutes for this. True to its name, the drop when it reaches the top is sudden and in my opinion probably the best ride in this theme park!

the-nat-channel-japan-tokyo-disneysea-maihama-night

The atmosphere at the main street after the sun sets, festive and romantic. I’m a sucker for these type of atmosphere and it would be such a perfect date night idea to be here. Imagine having a hand to hold while walking down this street along with a hot chocolate to sip on.

the-nat-channel-japan-tokyo-disneysea-maihama-toysville-toy-story

Toyville – Toy Story!

This is the most HYPED up ride and I didn’t manage to ride on it. The fast past for the day has already finished when I arrived and that made me want to see what’s it all about even more! But the unreasonable queue time of 120 minutes was something I couldn’t bring myself to do.

the-nat-channel-japan-tokyo-disneysea-maihama-night-volcano

Disneysea didn’t have a castle, nor does it have a parade to end the evening. Instead, they had a lights and water show by the volcano. It was definitely freezing cold sitting out here on a winter night at 6pm waiting for the show to start, but I guess you can say it was worth it as it is unlike the ones in Disneyland!

the-nat-channel-japan-tokyo-disneysea-maihama-fireworks

The night ended with some spectacular fireworks!

While I enjoyed myself in Disneysea, I didn’t think it was a spectacular theme park. I still prefer Disneyland over this sea-themed park!

Leave a Reply

